Skip to main content



All UMR Members are encouraged to be involved through Committee Member and Leadership Levels!

To learn more about opportunities for involvement and view application information, visit the Get Involved section of the membership area!

Executive Committee Conference Committee Engagement Committee Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee Host Committee Tradition and Recognition Committee

The Executive Committee is charged with overseeing the business and on-goings of the Association.  The Committee is committed to sustaining an Association that provides inclusive opportunities for education and networking with Residence Life and Housing professionals within the Upper Midwest Region.


Committee Members

President: Keniese Evans (Coe College)

Vice President: Leandra Jenkins (University of Iowa)

Treasurer: Mike Mueller (University of Iowa)

Secretary: Michelle Madsen (Secretary)

Inclusion & Equity Coordinator: Kirsten Andrews (Unbiversity of Kansas)

State Membership Coordinator: Matt Diischer (North Dakota State College of Science)

Technology & Sustainabilty Coordinator: Matt Allbright (University of Nebraska, Kearney)

Conference Committee

The Conference Committee coordinates the planning and logistical components affiliated with the Association's annual conference.  The committee also solicits and host sites for the next annual conference. 


Committee Members

Michelle Madsen (Chair), Missouri State University

Matt Diischer, North Dakota State College of Science

Mike Mueller, University of Iowa

Matt Allbright, University of Nebraska at Kearney

Trelana Daniel, University of Nebraska at Kearney

MJ Bostic, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

Brooks Hetle, North Dakota State University

Keesa T Shrader, University of Kansas

Engagement Committee

The Engagement Committee works on finding ways to engage the membership in various ways.  This committee also works on recruitment of new committee members, committee chair positions, and executive team positions.  They also coordinate the UMR travel scholarships, various assessment strategies, professional development, and communication.

Members who would like to get involved on a committee, should apply online (it is behind the UMR log in)


Committee Members

Leandra Jenkins (Chair), University of Iowa, Vice President

Cody Burggraff (Co-Chair), University of South Dakota

Phil Neuman, University of Kansas

Olivia Ward, Gustavus Adolphus College


Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

The UMR-ACUHO Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee focuses its efforts on educating, celebrating, and mobilizing our membership to better advocate for and with our peers and students, especially those from underrepresented backgrounds. The committee is made up of five subcommittees: On-going Education, Keynote Speaker Selection, Social Justice Awards, signature event, and Philanthropy.

Our committee seeks to provide opportunities for our region to learn, to share, and to take action outside of the conference. Our committee does this in an effort to meet the region’s mission of educating and providing services that meet the needs of the diverse people and institutions of UMR-ACUHO.

Whether you seek a leadership opportunity within this committee or not, we encourage you to engage in our region in all facets from a social justice framework. By doing so, it is our hope that we will become better-informed professionals who model advocacy for their students and peers.



Committee Members

Kirsten Andrews (Chair), University of Kansas

Keniese Evans (Co-chair), Coe College, President

Naeelah Chism, UW-Madison

Rashad Hanna, University of Iowa

Sam Azzaro, University of Kansas

Amanda Perrin, St. Catherine University


Coming 2023!


The Host Committee handles on the ground logistics during the annual conference and leading up to the annual conference.  They also assist in the preparation for the upcoming conference alongside the conference committee.


See Get Involved page to apply for this committee.

Tradition and Recognition

The Tradition and Recognition Committee solicits nominations and recommends recipients for awards sponsored by the Association. In addition, this body of past UMR-ACUHO presidents seeks opportunities to share, advise, and counsel with the Association's committees, or serve on ad-hoc committees when needed. 

Explore UMR-ACUHO's History


The Traditions & Recognitions committee gives the following awards and scholarships each year:

  • William B. Sweet Distinguished Service Award
    The William B. Sweet Distinguished Service Award is UMR-ACUHO's most prestigious award. The nominee should represent a standard of excellence thought contributions and dedication to the regional and international housing association and profession. The nominee's service should leave a positive and lasting impact, and they should be viewed as a role model for colleagues and new professions.

  • Robert E. Mosier Professional Enrichment Award
    This award recognizes an individual in the Upper Midwest Region who has made outstanding contributions to the professional development of their colleagues in college student housing. The nominee should have established a record of involvement in professional enrichment opportunities on their own campus, within UMR-ACUHO, and within other professional organizations at the state, regional, or national level.

  • Gaber Leadership Scholarship
    This endowment is used exclusively to support awards for first-time attendee recipients to attend the ACUHO-I STARS college. Recipients have identifiable evidence of undergraduate experience serving residence hall students and want to pursue a career in housing and residence life.

  • Outstanding New Professional Award
    The UMR-ACUHO Outstanding New Professional Award is awarded in the Master's and Bachelor's categories. These two awards recognize an individual in the Upper Midwest Region who displays outstanding ability and potential as a new professional in college student housing.

  • Frank J. Traver President's Scholarship
    The President’s Scholarship is given annually to deserving graduate students who display outstanding potential and commitment to a career in college student housing.

  • Support Staff Recognition Award
    The Support Staff Recognition Award is designed to show appreciation to support staff members on our campuses (i.e., building service worker/custodian, administrative assistant/secretary, dining/food service employee, etc.). Every campus has deserving individuals who should be recognized for their outstanding contributions to the student housing community.

Visit the Awards & Scholarships section for more information & nomination materials.  You must be logged in as a member to visit this page.

Committee Goals
  • Develop criteria, promote nominations and select recipients for Association awards.
  • Recognize support staff for the contributions they make on their campuses.
  • Raise money for the Frank J. Traver President's Scholarship fund.
  • Appoint the UMR-ACUHO Archivist, and through this position maintain the archives, and update the UMR-ACUHO History Book.
  • Assist, guide and support the association's volunteers.