Skip to main content
AIM Logo

Assessment & Information Management

The purpose of the Assessment and Information Management (AIM) Committee is to conduct, analyze, report, and retain research in the various areas related to student housing and residence life.

AIM Goals:

  • Support the goals of UMR-ACUHO.
  • Disseminate information regarding committee work in formats accessible to all regional members.
  • Promote and support research by UMR-ACUHO members.
  • Create connections with graduate programs within the UMR-ACUHO region to promote research opportunities and sharing assessment data.
  • Create a culture of evidence through outcome-based assessments.
  • Promote AIM Committee membership.
AIM Research Grant

Sponsored by the UMR – ACUHO Assessment and Information Management Committee


Support research efforts in areas pertinent to residential life and housing through individual and departmental projects. Individual or group applicants are encouraged to apply for funding to assist with travel, publications, survey software, resources, incentives, etc. to support their research topic. 

The Award

$2,500 is available to support one or more research projects for individual or group research. Projects may be on a 1 or 2 year timeline. Individual grant recipients will be awarded with a check directly from UMR-ACUHO. 

Application Process

Completed applications and proposals accepted until October 28th, 2019. Research grant(s) are announced and awarded at the UMR-ACUHO Fall Conference. 

Grant Recipient Responsibilities
  • Initial Summary: Submit a summary report to the AIM committee chair.
  • Conference Proposal: Submit a conference program proposal form designed to share your completed research findings. If the recipient is unable to attend the UMR-ACUHO Fall Conference, information may be presented by the Assessment and Information Management Committee. A copy of the program proposal must be sent to the AIM committee chair.
  • Full Report and Detailed Summary: Submit a full report with detailed summary of research findings three weeks prior to the Annual UMR- ACUHO Conference to be incorporated into the UMR-ACUHO Annotated Bibliography. **UMR-ACUHO reserves the right to distribute a summary of the results upon request.
  • Perspectives Magazine Article: Write and submit an article for publication in the UMR-ACUHO Perspectives Magazine, and send a copy to the AIM committee chair. Refer to the UMR-ACUHO Communications Committee website for submission guidelines and dates.

If you have any questions please contact the AIM Committee at

AIM HIGH Award for Outstanding Research/Assessment

Sponsored by the UMR – ACUHO Assessment and Information Management Committee


The AIM High Award for Outstanding Research or Assessment seeks to recognize an individual/group research, assessment or measured initiative that has had an impact on their campus, community, or greater housing field.

Research is the systematic investigation into and study of materials and sources in order to establish facts and reach new conclusions.

Assessment is defined as the systematic collection, review and use of information about programs/processes undertaken for the purpose of improving student learning and/or the program and its affiliated elements. 
This award recognizes outstanding research/assessment programs for their progress in developing and applying evidence of outcomes as part of the ongoing evaluation and improvement of residential life. Established in 2016, this award seeks to promote future research and assessment by recognizing the outstanding work of current UMR-ACUHO members.

Individuals/groups need not be professional researchers to receive this award. Eligible nominations will include individuals/groups who have conducted research and/or assessment initiatives primarily coordinated or sponsored by housing and residential life departments within UMR-ACUHO. 

Nominated individuals will be asked to have the details of their research/assessment made available to UMR-ACUHO members via the web site and/or the annual conference.

Nominations are encouraged to be of research or assessment initiatives which have seen significant progress, development, and/or impact in the past year. 

Nomination Process

Completed nominations will be accepted until October 28, 2019. The award(s) will be presented at the UMR-ACUHO Conference. Nominations are reviewed by the AIM Committee. 

Questions should be sent to the AIM Committee at:

Past Research

One of the objective of the UMR-ACUHO Assessment and Information Management Committee is to become more visible and utilized by our member institutions.  One of the ways to do this is to let everyone know what research and information we have gathered over the years. This bibliography is a complete set of the research the committee has accomplished since 1984.  Contact the Assessment and Information Management Chair for specific surveys listed in this bibliography.

A listing of our research project titles is available here: UMR ACUHO Past Research

Committee Members

Joshua Lee (Chair), St. Olaf College
Chloé Smith, University of Nebraska at Omaha
Danny Sandberg, Gustavus Adolphus Colleg
Jake Wakem, Concordia University of St. Paul
Klare Armstrong, University of Wisconsin - LaCrosse
Lindsy Morgan, Grinnell College
Michelle Madsen, Missouri State University
Nathan Steussy, University of South Dakota
Sean Payette, Concordia College-Moorhead, MN